General Blog: Courage

Right at this moment, I am taking a break. Not a long break, like to put my studies on hold, but a short one to do something else for a little while. It’s not a short break from the work I have to do for my current university project, that’s incidental. I am taking a short break away from updating my portfolio which I will be sending with my application to a job currently posted at Wizards of the Coast.Yes, THAT Wizards of the Coast.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/90/Wizards_of_the_Coast_logo.svg/1200px-Wizards_of_the_Coast_logo.svg.png

This is a big deal for me as posting it is a marker of how far I feel I’ve come. I’ve always tried to maintain what I think of as a realistic assessment of my creative and practical abilities. This has often been challenged by people who suggest I’m further along than I think. I have started listening to them but this may be incidental to the fact that I finally feel like I’m reaching the level of ability I have so long striven for.

Image result for goodfellas laughing The old thought.

It’s possible that the only reason this is less harrying than other potential employer is that I assume Wizards is so large that if they don’t notice me, they won’t remember me when I try again later, or better yet, they will.

Another sudden and measurable realization I’ve come to through this little exercise is how unprepared my online presence is for this sort of task. Better to learn this now while I am still pursuing other objectives. It’s also given me an excellent idea of what I would really actually truly want someone to see when looking over my work.

But now I need to get back to it. I have a lot to add and choose and decide where I am going to put it all together online. This is not a small job and I need to work out how to get it done in a few hours and then still catch up on my other work. This is a good exercise.

Leave a comment